You are on the Desktop website, Click here to go back to our mobile website
We use cookies to offer you the best service possible. By using our site you agree to the use of cookies.
New NADJ Chairman Elected At First BPM|PRO-Hosted AGM
On Sunday, the National Association of DJs held its official Annual General Meeting where the new committee for the coming year was elected. For the first time, the meeting was hosted at the BPM|PRO exhibition, allowing members to find out about the latest equipment and learn from a programme of educational sessions as well as attend the AGM.

Having previously hosted a dedicated event at which to hold the association’s AGM, this year the NADJ committee made the decision to coincide the meeting with BPM|PRO, a more economical solution and one also intended to encourage better attendance from members. The move proved to be a resounding success, with the meeting attracting a strong attendance from the association’s membership.

At the meeting, current chairman Alan Marshall stepped down after two years and Pete Hawkins was formally elected to serve in the role for the next twelve months. The other elected officials of the association – Secretary, Fabio Capozzi and Treasurer, Brian Jones – were formally appointed to continue in their roles for another year.

Speaking after the meeting, Pete Hawkins said, “I would like to thank Alan Marshall for the last two years he has been chairman, as over that time we have seen the association continue to grow to reach the strong position it is in today. Alan’s development of the NADJ scholarship over the last two years is just one example of the hard work he put in and, as this year’s scholarship winner, I know the immense help it offers to the successful DJ. I would also like to thank Alan’s wife, Anna Marie, and their family who put up with the various commitments required to be a National Chairman. I am very honoured and proud to now be able to take up the position of National Chairman and I have many ideas to put into place as I work to continue to move the association forward.”

In addition to the three formally elected committee members, the association has a number of co-opted roles to provide organisational and administrative support to the elected officers. Paul Arnett will continue in his role as Website and Communications Officer as will Sue Crean in the position of Merchandising Officer. New roles were also announced at the AGM for Marketing and PR Officer, which will be handled by Tony Winyard; Events & Branch Development Officer, which has become the remit of Steven Honeyball; and, finally, Education and Training Officer, a position that will be occupied by former chairman Alan Marshall.

Commenting on his time in the chair as well as his new role, Alan said, “Over the last two years I have been proud and honoured to represent the National Association of Disc Jockeys as the National Chairman. I have seen NADJ move forward, including relocating our AGM to September to coincide with BPM|PRO as well as the establishment of the NADJ Scholarship programme. This unique opportunity for one of our Full Members to take part in a wide selection of educational and training opportunities is something I am very proud of. For this reason, I have accepted the none-elected role of Education Officer to allow me to focus on developing educational opportunities and resources for NADJ members. I wish Pete Hawkins every success as he moves forward as the new National Chairman for which he has my full support.”

An important committee position that is yet to be filled is that of Membership & Benefits Officer. This role is to provide support to the association’s members by processing membership applications and renewals as well as overseeing the benefits offered to NADJ members currently and, overtime, working to increase the benefit offering and thus making NADJ membership even better value for money. Any members who feel that they are up to this challenge, should contact Pete Hawkins at
Published: 16 September 2016
Photo Booth Expo London
13 / 10 / 2024 - 14 / 10 / 2024


£5.00 (INC P&P)